Cul de Sac

(January 5, 2012 at 8:07am)

Why did you ever get on this road again (G/D)

To see some fake Picasos painted by a friend (C/D)

You’d never even slow down if it not for all your kin (A)

Tell me why did you ever get on this road again (G/D)

The less you get on home the more it stays the same

Wouldn’t even stop if it weren’t for your last name

They will always make you do feel like you’ve gone insane

Tell me why did you ever get on this road again

Driving ‘cross Texas to hit I10 one more time

Said you’d never go back in fact you’d rather die

Just one too many things that time can not mend

Tell me why did you ever get on this road again 

Staring out the window waiting for the scene to change

Praying that tomorrow will be better than yesterday

If you live to see sunrise you’ll be screaming out amen

Tell me why did you ever get on this road again 

Cruising down the lonely streets of your last hometown

Growing up on the road my friend never helped you settle down

Went looking for a friendly face in a town of angry men

Tell me why did you ever get on this road again 

Why you got off this road makes you scratch your head

You ran into an old friend and this is all he said

“The one you wanted killed is living the one you loved was slain

Tell me why did you ever get on this road again

“It’s best you get on back to the Hell from which you came

You got nothin’ more to offer man and not a stake to claim

You’ve left us with nothin’ and have taken our surname

Tell me why did you ever get on this road again” 

Haulin’ down the road again towin’ all you left behind

Seems like all that baggage never quite come untied

It’s a long hard road to drive to get back to all my friends

I promise y’all I’ll never get on this road again 

Leave a Reply

